View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 6:38 am

Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 LBD Patient Life Expectancy 
Post LBD Patient Life Expectancy
Hi! I am new to the LBD site but have been caring for my wife of 52 years for some time, so I am not new to the disease. She was first diagnosed 5 years ago but we began to notice very minor memory lapses about 2 years prior. Memory lapses originally were mainly in losing a thought in mid-sentence. Her neurologist has told me recently that he believes that she is now in the final stages of the disease and does not expect her to survive the next 12 months. I have not seen any reference to a LBD progression and would like to know if anyone has any information regarding such a "timetable". Does LBD have a progression that is predictable? Our neurologist is a well respected doctor and researcher and this information is very troubling to me. Are there any reference materials regarding this question of longevity? Thank you.

Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:34 pm

Post Re: LBD Patient Life Expectancy
lbda.org states: "The disease has an average duration of 5 to 7 years." This would be disease duration from the time of onset, not from the time of diagnosis.

The only predictor I've seen of survival time is here:
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=325

Looking at 14 pathologically-confirmed DLB patients, average survival time after the onset of dysphagia was 10 months (range was 3-17 months).

Speaking of that....did you discuss brain donation with your wife, or do you have your own opinions about this? As you may know, it's the only way to confirm the diagnosis. Diagnostic accuracy for DLB is very low (less than 33%).

Has your neurologist prescribed hospice? If he's giving you a less-than-12-month window, I'd be in close contact with him about when that window seems to be closing. Hospice can be very helpful to both the patient and family.

Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:50 pm